A Green Smoothie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away!

Yes, I am sure you have heard the old “an apple a day keeps the doctor away” saying and dear oh dear was grandma right. Fruit and Vegs can do wonders to our abused bodies. Abused? well yes we over stimulate our bodies with caffeine, and nasty trans fat and overindulge on meat and sugar constantly (well ok not everyone body some are guiltier than others)

About two months ago I decided that enough was enough and I embarked in this journey of changing my eating habits. I mentioned on my last post that I am giving up red meat and getting more nutrient pack fruit and vegetable sin my diet. #PlantbasedAn easy way for some to start this journey (when you aren’t fond on the taste of the vegs) is to make Green Juice! yes green juice is my new love. I start my mornings with a glass of water and a Green juice or smoothie that keeps me going all morning. that way i get in a whole bunch of nutrients, fibre, calcium and vitamins as well as my 5 a day all in one go, in one simple step.

More smoothies on my Instagram Onixihane

More smoothies on my Instagram Onixihane

My green smoothies always incorporate Spinach. Kale is also good for you but it taste stronger so it can take some time to get used to. Spinach on the other hand is virtually tasteless when combined with other fruit. I also add flax seeds or Chia Seeds to my smoothies. Flax seeds are considered one of the wonder foods of all times. Some studies suggest that Flax seeds may help reduce your risk of heart disease, cancer, stroke, and diabetes. These little seeds are considered high in Omega-3 essential fatty acids, “good” fats that have been shown to have heart-healthy effects. Each tablespoon of ground flaxseed contains about 1.8 grams of plant omega-3s. Lignans, which have both plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities. Flaxseed contains 75 to 800 times more lignans than other plant foods. And Fibre, Flaxseed contains both the soluble and insoluble types

Wow that’s a lot considering its size! you can find them in supermarkets and add them to any type of food.

Another super hero of the seed-y world is the Chia. Chia seeds have more Omega-3 than salmon per serving, and also when in contact with any liquid they expand 12 times its initial size making you feel fuller. Each 3-tablespoon helping of chia seeds also has 7 grams of protein and 14g of fibre! So I say the more, the better.  I am obsessed with these little babies at the moment, I add them to anything: yoghurt, cereal, juice, salads, anything.

Banana, Mango and Chia seeds Smoothie

Banana, Mango and Chia seeds Smoothie

You can also use delicious milk supplements (if you want a thicker smoothie) like Coconut milk (I recommend Silk Vanilla Coconut Milk) and Almond milk (same brand) or coconut water for a lighter version. Not only is full of electrolytes and nutrients but it also taste super delicious. Don’t be afraid to try new combinations, have fun with it! I tend to use banana or avocado as a base for thicker smoothies and green apple or celery for green juice. Add things like spinach, kale, mint, pineapple, cucumber, beets, mango, carrot, orange, peach, nectarine, anything! let it be like a white canvas ready for you to paint with an explosion of flavour!

20130925-134434.jpg

Double Berry and Beet with Mint

Enjoy! follow me on Instagram for more Juice Inspiration! :)

OnixJihane

About OnixJ

British-Latina, healthy food enthusiast, wine lover, amateur photographer, mother, bilingual, bi-cultural, vegetarian-ish, tree hugger.
This entry was posted in Life - General, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Green Smoothie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away!

  1. Leah says:

    YUM! I’m just getting into drinking smoothies aswell and have to say I’m loving the way its making me feel when I start my day this way. I haven’t tried Chia seeds yet in my drinks but I might give it a go given what you’ve just said. Thanks for the info.

    • onixj says:

      Oohh isn’t wonderful the way you feel? I love it and not many understand unless they have done the smoothie thing, haha. So full of energy, so clean!
      And Chia I definitely recommend! please let me know what you think about it after you try :)

Leave a Reply

